Book came out on January 17, 2017.

Synopsis: “On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.” (Goodreads.)

WARNING: THIS REVIEW MANY (WILL) CONTAIN SPOILERS! IF YOU DO NOT WANT A PERFECTLY GOOD BOOK SPOILED ADVERT YOUR EYES NOW…. (don’t scroll)

spoiler-alert

Well okay, if you say so……

Review: Okay, so I obviously don’t want to-nor can I give away the ending; but this book, without a doubt will have a series. 

So to be completely honest… this book is very slow at the beginning. It is set up so that the chapters go between the two main protagonists, Akos and Cyra. The FIRST FOUR CHAPTERS… no, the first two… are very slow. Chapters 3 and 4 are still slow, but they pick up just a bit.  These four chapters are basically background chapters for Akos and Cyra.

I have never read the Divergent series (but I’ve watched the movies…I know not the same…) but I have read Four by Roth which is a short little thing compared to Carve the MarkCarve the Mark is different in the aspect that it is super science fiction-y. It takes place in SPACE, which yeah, okay, isn’t really SUPER science fiction-y. BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE! It becomes super science fiction-y when you add in the beasts called Armored Ones, Currentstreams/Currentgifts, Oracles, and hallucinogenic feathergrass that both Thuvhe and Shotet claim they planted. There are many different groups throughout the story, the main being Thuvhe and Shotet–and lets just say, the Shotet are brutal.

carve the mark.PNG
Still from book trailer.

In Thuvhe, there are three fate- favored families, Kereseth being the one you read about the most; and the Shotet has one fate-favored family, the Noaveks. Throughout the novel, you only know of 3 fates. Two from the Kereseth family and the one of Ryzek. Fate-favored is strange, Akos Kereseth’s fate is “will die in the service to the family Noavek.” Ryzek, who is the antagonist and Cyra’s tyrannical brother, is fated to “fall to the house of Benesit.” (The Benesit family are Thuvhists–who are very much disliked by almost all Shotet people.)  

The four main characters in Carve the Mark, Akos, Cyra, Eijeh (Akos’s brother), and Ryzek (Cyra’s bother) all have gifts (but really the majority of the secondary characters have currentgifts.)

Akos: can cancel out the gifts of others. Therefore, Cyra can’t cause Akos pain and is comforted by his gift. 

Cyra: can inflict pain to anyone she touches (her gift will eventually change slightly) but is always in constant pain. 

Eijeh: is an oracle (like is mother)

Ryzek: can trade memories with other people. Ryzek also can’t stand pain-he has to take hushflower or a calming tonic when he tortures and/or kills someone…EVERY TIME. 

Rate: 8/10

Recommend: 8/10

Favorite quote: “I am a Shotet. I am sharp as broken glass, and just as fragile. I tell lies better than I tell truths. I see all of the galaxy and never catch a glimpse of it.”

You can also check out Epic Reads! It gives you a low down of most of the stuff WITHOUT ANY SPOILERS! Click here to go to Epic Reads. 

View the book trailer here!

Thank you for reading!

Enjoy Carve the Mark! 

Let me know how you enjoyed it in the comments below! 

Courtney

Advertisements